Modal verbs: CAN / CAN’T

Many people learning English find modal verbs confusing, especially their specific meanings. Here’s a basic introduction to the modal verb CAN with examples.

We use ‘can’ to talk about ‘possibility’. POSIBILIDAD

  • Can you do that?
  • I can’t manage to do that.
  • You can leave your car in that parking space.
  • You cannot smoke in here.

* Notice that there are two negative forms: ‘can’t’ and ‘cannot’. These mean exactly the same thing. When we are speaking, we usually say ‘can’t’.

We use ‘can’ to talk about ‘ability’. PARA HABLAR DE UNA HABILIDAD

  • I can speak French.
  • I can’t drive.

We use ‘can’ to ask for and give permission. (We also use ‘may’ for this but is more formal and much less common.) PARA PEDIR Y DAR PERMISO

  • Can I speak to you or are you too busy?
  • You can use my phone.
  • You can’t come in.

We use ‘can’ in offers, requests and instructions. OFRECIMIENTOS, PETICIONES E INSTRUCCIONES.

  • Can I help?
  • Can you give me a hand?
  • When you finish that, you can take out the garbage.

We use ‘can’ with ‘see’ ‘hear’ ‘feel’ ‘smell’ ‘taste’ to talk about something which is happening now . (Where you would use the present continuous with most other verbs.)

  • I can smell something burning.
  • Can you hear that noise?
  • I can’t see anything.

We can use ‘can’t’ for deduction.DEDUCCIÓN 

  • You can’t be hungry. You’ve just eaten.  No puedes tener hambre. Acabas de comer.
  • He was in London one hour ago when I spoke to him. He can’t be here yet.Estaba en Lóndres hace una hora cuando hablé con él. No puede estar ya aquí.
Modal Example Uses
Can

They can live where they want .

We can’t fix it. No podemos arreglarlo

Can I smoke here?

Can you help me?

Ability / Possibility

Inability / Impossibility

Asking for permission

Request (petición)

 Here you have some examples of the use of CAN / CAN’T in dialogues:

a) Can you play the piano?

Yes, a little. How about you?

No I can’t, but I can play the guitar.

 

b) Can you cook?

Not really. I can make toast and pasta, that’s all.

Everyone can make toast!

Well, can you cook?

Yes, I can. I can cook delicious fish and chicken.

Wow, that’s great.

 

c)So what can you do?

I can draw, and I can paint really well too. I can also speak English and Korean. How about you?

I can play chess and I can write computer programs. I can also speak English and Spanish.

Excellent!

NOW Open the following links by clicking on them and do the exercises:


Can / Can´t, by deinha
What can they do?, by jecika

0.- ability    very easy

1.- Mix and match

2.-Requests. offers and possibilities

3.- Put in order

4.- Mix and match 2

5.-Rules and regulations

6.- The logical possibility  (éste tiene que ver con la deducción) It is more difficult because of the vocabulary. Try it if you want.

7.- Fill the boxes using CAN /CAN’T

8.- Unscramble or put the words in order

Leave a comment